Solar Physics and Space Plasma Research Centre

The work of this centre is at the forefront of addressing theoretical and observational issues in solar physics that include Helioseismology and Coronal-seismology. This centre is one of the largest and most dynamic solar physics research groups in the country and is well renowned internationally.

Group home page


Academic staff
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Dr Istvan Ballai H9 23833 vcard Solar plasma physics, linear and nonlinear waves
Dr Rekha Jain H24 23732 vcard Solar physics, Helioseismology, Astrophysical MHD
Dr Eun-jin Kim H13 23876 vcard Fluid dynamics, magnetohydrodynamics (MHD), plasma physics, self-organisation, non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, turbulence, solar/stellar physics, magnetic fusion, homeostasis in biosystems
Dr Yi Li H14 23882 vcard Fluid dynamics. Fluid flow optimization. Turbulence. Wind energy
Dr Nils Mole G28 23772 vcard Turbulent diffusion
Prof Michael Ruderman H8 23717 vcard Hydrodynamics and magnetohydrodynamics. Waves and instablities. Applications to solar and space physics.
Dr Gary Verth H22 23828 vcard
Prof Robert von Fay-Siebenburgen H16 23832 vcard Solar, space and plasma physics, MHD waves, linear and non-linear waves

Research fellows
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Mr Stuart Mumford H19 23712 vcard

Research associates
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Mr Christopher Nelson H19 23712 vcard
Dr Ben Snow D10 (ACSE) vcard

Postgraduate students
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Matthew Allcock H23 vcard Solar magnetohydrodynamic waves
Mihai Barbulescu I23 vcard
Samuel Bennett H23 vcard MHD Waves in the Solar Chromosphere
Ioannis Giagkiozis H23c 23712 vcard
Norbert Gyenge H23 vcard
Tamas Sandor Kiss H23 vcard
Ms Marianna Korsos   vcard
Fionnlagh Mackenzie Dover H23 vcard
James Mather H23 23712 vcard
Rahul Sharma H23 23712 vcard Solar Physics, MHD waves
Daria Shukhobodskaia H23 vcard
Mr Alexander Shukhobodskiy I23 vcard
Hope Thackray H25 vcard
Eleanor Vickers H23 vcard

Current grants


Past grants


Key publications