The algebra group has worked extensively on tight closure and related questions in commutative algebra. Another major theme is the study of local cohomology; this connects with the work of the Topology group via the work of Greenlees on the local cohomology of equivariant cohomology rings. On the noncommutative side, the group has studied classes of rings such as (generalised) Weyl algebras, rings of difference operators, quantum algebras, and Frobenius skew polynomial rings.


Academic staff
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Prof Vladimir Bavula J15 23786 vcard Non-commutative ring theory, D-modules, automorphisms
Dr Moty Katzman J16 23710 vcard Commutative algebra

Teaching fellows
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Dr Nicole Jarvis K11 23773 vcard Commutative algebra

Emeritus professors
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Prof Rodney Sharp   vcard Commutative algebra

Retired staff
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Prof David Jordan K29 23774 vcard Non-commutative ring theory and Poisson algebras

Postgraduate students
Name Office Phone Email VCard  
Maram Alossaimi J25 vcard Non commutative algebras/ Poisson algebras
Nathan Blacher   vcard
Mr David Carey J25 vcard
Andrew Fisher   vcard Algebraic topology
David Williams   vcard Commutative algebra

Past grants